Home About Us Services & Products Project Gallery Testimonials Going Green Contact Us
Paint footer

What our clients say

The View Condominiums - July 2015

The View Condominiums in Portland contracted with Verhaalen Painting to paint our six two-story, 1945 buildings and were thrilled with the job they did. The team of six, headed up by Efren, was so professional, did an outstanding job, and everyday cleaned up after themselves, making sure everything was neat and tidy, and in its place.

Having worked with a colorist, we picked paints that would have different applications on each of our buildings to add interest and variety. Each building also had different architectural features which required close attention be paid to the color plan that had been developed. And there were old wooden windows that needed to be painted to match the newer fiberglass ones. Efren was very careful to note which sections should have each color and remedied the one mix-up immediately.

The team was not only friendly with owners, but also courteous and respectful of everyone's needs. It was a joy to watch how the team split up their assignments and worked diligently to give us a wonderful new look. We can't provide enough superlatives for the work that Verhaalen and their exceptional team did for us.

Barbara Blackstone
Blackstone Associates 

NorthWynd Condominiums - May 2015

The Board of Directors of the NorthWynd Condominium Association is pleased to recommend Verhaalen Painting, Inc. We engaged their services in 2013 to paint our property of 200+ units in SW Vancouver. Of the several vendors we evaluated, Verhaalen's approach to bidding the large job was the most comprehensive and thoughtful. We had a high degree of attention on ensuring communication with residents was well cared for, some of the more technical aspects of the paint job were attended to, and that we could really depend on the paint job to provide its two critical benefits for the community: one - protect the buildings from the elements, and two - look fantastic.

From the beginning of our bid solicitation process to then end of the project and managing warranty claims, Verhaalen has been professional and attentive. Now--more than a year afterward--the paint continues to look fantastic and we are more than pleased with the work conducted. We have enjoyed consistent customer support for addressing minor issues, and believe that we have a strong long-term partner.

Adam Cummings
President, Board of Directors 
NorthWynd Condominiums Association
Vancouver, Washington 

Shadow Spring homeowner - May 2015

I just want to thank you for the excellent paint job your crew, led by Danny, did for my home as part of the Shadow Spring project in 2014, and I apologize for taking so long to send this. I am so pleased with the work your crew did, and Danny especially paid very close attention to the extra paint details that my neighbor and I wanted on our common-wall town home. The result is that it went from my least favorite on the street to my most favorite! Not only that, I continue to receive compliments on the beautiful new colors as well as on the excellent paint job.

I am so proud of the work Danny and your crew did. Please extend my heartfelt thanks once again to Danny and all the crew who worked so diligently on the 2014 Shadow Spring project in Beaverton.


Sherry Banaka

Superior Community Management - February 2015

As CEO of Superior Community Management, a regional community association management company of the Portland metropolitan area, I am pleased to compose this letter of recommendation for Verhaalen Painting, Inc.

Verhaalen Painting, Inc. has been a long time trusted painting contractor for well over a decade. The impeccable quality of work they demonstrate on all projects our clients hire them for has been unsurpassed for many years. Ken Verhaalen, president of the company, has dedicated himself to providing this unsurpassed quality and excellent customer service to usher himself as one of the leading painting contractors in the region.

Furthermore, Verhaalen Painting offers an exceptional warranty program that is a proven value to all clients that employ their services.

Superior Community Management has worked with Verhaalen Painting, Inc. virtually every painting season here in Oregon with one of our condominium or townhome communities with no outstanding issues or conflict needing to be resolved. Verhaalen stands by their work performance and product, always ensuring the satisfaction of their customers.

Superior Community Management would highly recommend Verhaalen Painting, Inc. to anyone searching for quality work, excellent customer service, and a warranty that truly extends the life of your paint.

Please consider Verhaalen Painting, Inc. for your next painting project.

Troy Rudd, CEO
 Superior Community Management 

Shadow Spring Homeowner's Association - February 2015

The Shadow Spring HOA would like to take this opportunity to express their appreciation for the recent work Verhaalen Painting, Inc. completed when painting the exterior of our 40 buildings in 2014.

From assisting with the color scheme to addressing numerous homeowner concerns, you and your employees displayed a professional approach which is a credit to your company.

Verhaalen Painting started and finished the job on schedule, on budget, and managed multiple issues that arose during the job. The quality of the paint job exceeded our expectations. All owners were very happy with the results and we continue to get compliments on the quality exterior painting.

All this, together with your warranty that you offer, reinforced our decision to choose your company above the competition. We highly recommend Verhaalen Painting and look forward to working with you in the future.

Jackie Endicott
Shadow Spring HOA 


Arbor Parc Homeowners' Association - January 2015

As the Board President for Arbor Parc Homeowners' Association, I wanted to write a letter of recommendation for Verhaalen Painting. Verhaalen Painting has provided quality work on several painting projects at Arbor Parc, including full repainting of all 190 townhome units.

Ken Verhaalen, President of Verhaalen Painting, has consistently provided timely and accurate proposals, and has followed each job to its final conclusion. The crewmen for Verhaalen painting are consistently professional and very technically skilled. In addition, they are unfailingly friendly and considerate of owners and tenants within the community.

The care that the Verhaalen Painting employees take is a tribute to the management of their company. When the President of a company cares about its customers, it truly shows in the service that we have received on each project that they have handled for us.

Their prices are competitive, and their communication practices are excellent. If there was ever any type of issue, it was resolved immediately.

I can recommend Verhaalen Painting without reservation. They are a great company.

Fred Meyer, Board President

Knut Knutson - November 2014

I must say that it's few and far between that you can deal with someone or a company such as yours, when it's all said and done and everyone, "especially myself", can say that was a job well done at a very reasonable price. Thank you all so much!!

Promenade at Bethany Village - Summer 2014

On behalf of the Board of Directors and the owners of the Promenade at Bethany Village, I would like to express our thanks and appreciation to you, your company and your entire crew for a job "well done"! 

Our project included many different facets: painting our buildings and doors, sealing each deck, painting all decks and property railings, as well as our garage security wrought iron.

By meeting with Doug and Bryson weekly, we were able to keep our residents up to date on what had been completed and what the following week's work schedule would be. Our residents could then plan ahead as to when the crew would be on their decks. If a resident needed help moving something on their deck, your crew helped with a smile.

From moving a high lift so someone could get their car out of a garage, to opening a door for a lady with her arms full, the painters would stop what they were doing to help. They were always polite and courteous. Bryson and his crew were always ready and willing to answer any question an owner may ask.

I enjoyed working with Bryson on a daily basis. He insured the project was always clean and picked up at the end of each work day.

Our buildings and decks look great! We are happy owners and I would be very willing to recommend Verhaalen Painting to anyone considering them for their project. From start to finish, their professionalism is top notch.

Bill Plasker, Board Member

Summerlinn Estates — June 14, 2009

I am an owner/resident at Summerlinn Estates. Your company has just completed a big painting job here on our condominiums and I am sure it was a challenging task.

This evening I sat out on my terrace (I have two of them) for the 1st time since I was able to put out my patio furniture, rugs, plants, and the usual stuff since the completion of painting.

My intent for this letter is to say a Big “THANK YOU” for the beautiful and careful job your painters did on my unit front and back. I am on the 2nd level with obstacles for your guys and they made it.

The paint job is far superior than it was when I moved in new 4 years ago. It now looks finished and inviting.

Thank you for a very professional job, your guys were great…polite and left no messes. They even moved my big plant pots with care. The place looks like Verhaalen Painting gave us a facelift!

Carol Garnett

Foot Development Company — December 8, 2008

Foote Development Company has been in the home-building business since 1978, constructing approximately 1,500 home, apartments and condominiums in 20 plus residential projects in southern California and Oregon. Recently, as a Board Member for the Riverpoint Condominiums HOA, I managed the contract to replace siding, where necessary, and repaint the exterior of the 23 contemporary condominiums on the Willamette River in the community of John’s Landing in Portland, OR. As an experienced contractor, I write this letter of recommendation for Verhaalen Painting, Inc. (Verhaalen).

The Riverpoint Condominiums were started in 1983, constructed in 5 phases and completed in 1981. The contemporary design includes a vertical application of high-grade tongue and groove cedar siding.

Riverpoint HOA’s contract with Verhaalen included:

  • a thorough inspection of the siding,
  • pressure washing the siding before the application of the sealants and
  • replacement of siding, where necessary, prior to painting.

It also includes an inspection two years following the completion of the painting to verify that the siding and sealants are intact and functioning properly. If any of the new siding installed by Verhaalen Painting shows a sign of failure, the contract calls for its replacement at that time. During the same inspection, all sealants will be inspected and replaced if necessary.

Because the 23 condominiums at Riverpoint are occupied, Verhaalen’s staff needed to respect the access needs of the homeowners and be attentive to the protection of outdoor furnishings and plant material on the private decks. During the project, I received several compliments from my neighbors on our contractor selection.

At the conclusion of the project, Verhaalen provided photographs of all the areas that received new siding or had a particular intricacy. As the project proceeded, some work was added to the scope of the work. Because the extra material for the work did not exceed the estimated contingency, Verhaalen’s change order was for labor only.

During my 30 years in the residential contracting business, I have not worked with a better painting contractor than Verhaalen Painting, Inc.

Mike Foote

Summerlinn Estates Homeowner Association — June 9, 2009

On behalf of Summerlinn Estates Homeowner Association, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you and your employees for the excellent painting of our eighty-four units.

The entire crew was courteous to everyone at all times. Clean-up at the end of each day left nothing to be desired.

I personally enjoyed working with Chris, Shane and Bryson. They communicated with me on a daily basis regarding work scheduled and expectations.

I would not hesitate to recommend your company to anyone seeking to contract for painting services.

Vincent Deveney,
President Summerlinn Estates HOA

Laissez Faire Estates – July 8, 2009

Today was the final day of painting at the Laissez Faire Estates and I want to take an opportunity to acknowledge your crew. Not only does my patio look great, but my interactions with your staff were very pleasant.

Most of my conversations were with David, who was respectful and always willing to discuss and do whatever needed to be done. His attention to detail and his attitude were remarkably service-oriented. He represents your crew and your firm very well.

I would definitely recommend Verhaalen Painting. Thanks for doing a professional job and leaving a good impression.

Linda Wettengel

Belmont Dairy Row House Association - Dec 12, 2008

"The Belmont Dairy Row House Association would like to thank you for the fine job provided by your company in August of this year. We found you extremely professional in your approach and follow up while re-painting our 30 unit, 10 year old complex.

Your staff was top-notch. They worked quickly, kept us informed about the status of the project, were cooperative with the homeowners, and completed the work on time and on budget.

As we walk around the complex we continually remark how great the units look…like new!"  

Dave Coryell, Chair-Building Committee - Belmont Dairy Row House Association


Linneman Station Condominiums – August 23, 2010

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you and your employees for the wonderful painting project recently completed at Linneman Station Condominiums. From the first proposal to the final follow-up work, everything was done in a highly professional manner.

Linneman Station Condominiums look better than new and many owners have expressed their satisfaction with the result and the way in which the whole project was handled. Your employees were courteous, friendly and helpful, completing the work as scheduled with as little inconvenience as possible.

As Board members and liaisons for LSC, we worked closely with Bryson and it was a very positive experience. We appreciated the no-hassle manner in which all concerns were handled to our satisfaction.

We would highly recommend Verhaalen Painting, Inc. to anyone seeking the services of a high-quality, competent company.

 Herman Etzel and Bill Dirks